Remembrance Poppy

We finally received our Remembrance day poppies from the Tower of London. To be honest, it had been so long, I’d completely forgotten about them!

I ordered 2 at the same time (one for my mum and one for my brother) quite early on, and then my sister bought one to be sent to us separately about a month or so later. I was a bit peeved that we had to pay twice for p&p costs but I understood that they would be sent out separately and would need to be well packaged on their own. They were indeed well packaged – actually very well.

IMG_0844

As you can see from the photo, there is a beautiful picture of all the poppies in position and then the actual flower is wrapped and very secure to prevent breakages. There’s a small leaflet/book about them – how they were made, the charities the money goes to, the volunteers etc, and instructions to put the poppy together (it’s very simple!). There’s also a certificate to authenticate that it’s a genuine poppy. So, the packaging gets a thumbs up, but what I was really surprised by was that all 3 of the poppies turned up together! After being sent countless emails about how they were being sent individually as they were picked, I didn’t expect that at all, but that was great as often the delivery companies can’t find us

IMG_0840.

The actual poppies when put together are beautiful and I love how each one is different. They were however, filthy. I know that they’d been in the ground for weeks, but again, the delay was supposedly because they were cleaning each one. I would not have minded one bit if more of the cost was going to charity – but that’s another rant for another day!

IMG_0836

I know there’s been a lot of issues with some of the earlier poppies that were sent out being damaged/broken. All I can say is that they must have taken a hell of a beating as the petals are pretty solid and if packaged as ours were, pretty safe.

I definitely think that they were worth the money – I think including p&p it was £30 for a one of a kind piece of art commemorating such an important event in our history.

Leave a Reply

