Why a zebra quilt?

I’ve finally finished making a zebra quilt that I have been working on for the last 100 years! This was partly because I wanted to make sure that the pattern I had designed was exactly as I’d had it in my head, but also I have developed a new thumb dislocation which makes hand-sewing somewhat harder than usual!

10646722_772867106088777_2904430190349617991_n

As you can see, my interesting drawing skills aren’t the easiest to follow!

As you probably remember from a previous post (Why I started quilting…) I have Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome which is why my thumb has started dislocating (very inconvenient). The reason I’m bringing this up again is because this quilt is for the Ehlers-Danlos Support UK Conference auction later on in October. When they realised that I was donating some 25% of my sales throughout September, they asked if I would mind making a quilt for their auction. I was only too pleased to be able to contribute something and the brief they gave me was zebra.

You may be wondering why zebra? Well, you may or may not be aware that zebras are the official mascot of EDS (Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome). This is because ‘zebra’ is a medical term for difficult to diagnose, rare, or invisible diseases. The term comes from the saying “When you hear hoofbeats behind you, you don’t expect to see a zebra” which in medical terms means that if a patient comes in with a set of symptoms, a Dr will usually come up with the most obvious/common diagnosis. EDSers want to flip that, so if you hear hoofbeats, think of zebras as it could just as easily be one!

So here’s my small way of helping with that! I hope everyone likes it.

10389351_783540041688150_4573023926971680470_n                                         1959413_783540011688153_6781977263350358263_n  10151257_783539988354822_3982970973898666593_n

In case you think I’ve gone a bit mad, I’ve purposefully made a few of the lines (the backing, edging and quilting sewn lines) wonky as a zebra’s lines are never the same or perfect.

2 thoughts on “Why a zebra quilt?

  1. Lucy, I think your Zebra quilt is stunning, especially in view of your thumb problem! Well done. My son and my two gorgeous granddaughters have EDS, so I have joined EDS UK to help to support the charity – my daughter-in-law will be at the conference so I’ll tell her to look out for the quilt and bid for me! Best wishes, Shirley Waddington

    • Thank you so much, that’s so kind of you!! I hope your son and granddaughters are ok and that your daughter in law has a good time at the conference. 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

